it’s tricky

Anything on the piano that involves using fingers and coordinating them is too tricky. Once again, recital time is coming up in a few weeks. I’m playing Elvis Costello’s “Almost Blue” over and over again to get ready, but it doesn’t matter, because here’s the process that occurs when playing in front of other people:

1. I’m too nervous to think, so I play on automatic pilot. Suddenly my brain does a backflip and,
2. “What is this thing I’m sitting in front of? How does it work? What am I doing here?”
3. Then I sink down under the piano and creep toward the exit in a manner learned from our cats: very slowly, with head and back down low to the floor.
4. On the way out, I pause once or twice to nervously lick my shoulder, and then hiss.

Leave a Reply

