forty years in my ears

Standard

The audio portion of my head still works after decades of amplified punishment.

Recently I saw a Web page in which a Mr. Peterman posted a list of concerts he’d attended over a period of decades. It was fascinating to see where we converged and how his tastes did or did not change. Since I have a similar concert list, I decided to post mine also, with a bit of commentary. Those marked with the pluses +++ are among my favorite shows.

In many cases I’m guessing at dates and years, and I’ve probably forgotten some. I’ll update if I get better data. We’ll begin at the beginning.

Part 1. Michigan, My Michigan (“Glow fair the bosom of thy lakes.”)

Vanilla Fudge – 2/24/1968. Toledo (Ohio) Sports Arena. They didn’t show up! Allegedly the VF had a broken down tour bus, robbing me of a great experience at my first “big” concert. Here they are on a TV show. Instead of the Fudge we heard several other bands on the bill, the mainstay being the Amboy Dukes (the band that brought us—yikes—Ted Nugent and reached minor fame with “Journey to the Center of the Mind”). Also performing was Soap and the Frightened Trees. Never heard from those two again.

Outdoor concert at Michigan State University. – 5/24/70
Jefferson Airplane
John Sebastian
Rotary Connection

Mountain, Chicago, and the Small Faces also played that day (see posts and photo link below). I either missed or don’t remember them.

The John Sinclair Freedom Rally at Crisler Arena, Ann Arbor – 12/10/71. White Panther party leader and legal marijuana proponent Sinclair had been put away for ten years for possession of two joints. John Lennon wrote a song called “Ten for Two” for this benefit.
John & Yoko
David Peel
Stevie Wonder
The Up
Bobby Seale,
Black Panther and Chicago 7 defendant
Rennie Davis,
Chicago 7 defendant
David Dellinger,
Chicago 7 defendant
Bob Seger
Phil Ochs
Commander Cody and the Lost Planet Airmen

And more, but that’s enough.

Aerosmith – Boston, MA  1973

There were a large number of concerts in Ann Arbor, Detroit, and Toledo throughout the 1970s. I can’t put all the dates together.

Allman Brothers/Dr. John – Ann Arbor, Crisler Arena – 12/9/72.

+++Tim Buckley/Randy Newman – Ann Arbor, Power Center. 4/11/73. I count myself very lucky to have seen the talented Tim Buckley (yes, Jeff’s dad). He had one of the most distinctive, powerful, emotional voices I’ve ever heard. Died in 1975. Here’s one of the only decent videos I could find.

Phil Ochs – Ann Arbor, 5/25/73 (date uncertain).

Carlos Santana & John McClaughlin –  Ann Arbor, Crisler Arena – 8/31/73.

Sun Ra and His Space Arkestra –  Ann Arbor Blues & Jazz Festival, 9/9/73 (probably) I must have seen many other legends at this festival. May have attended the previous year also.

New York Dolls – Detroit, Michigan Palace, 9/22/73.

Moody Blues – Ann Arbor, Crisler Arena- 11/8/73.

Hawkwind –  Detroit, Ford Auditorium, 11/28/73.

Arlo Guthrie – Ann Arbor, I think. Sometime in this era.

Mahavishnu Orchestra – Toledo Sports Arena. 12/29/73. An intense jazz-rock fusion group led by virtuoso guitarist John McClaughlin.

Bob Dylan & the Band –  Ann Arbor, Crisler Arena, 2/2/74.

Mott the Hoople/Kansas –  Detroit, Masonic Auditorium –  5/20/74. Note: this was after Mick Ralphs had left Mott. Replaced by “Arial Bender.” The opening group was supposed to be Queen. Big disappointment when they stuck Kansas on the bill instead.

Johnny Winter/Golden Earring – Toledo Sports Arena 6/4/74.

David Bowie – Toledo Sports Arena – 6/20/74.

Santana/Peter Frampton/Lynrd Skynrd –  Rynearson Stadium (outdoors), Ypsilanti, Michigan 5/25/75.

Yes/Dave Mason/Peter Frampton/Ace –  Rynearson Stadium (outdoors), Ypsilanti, Michigan 7/20/75.

+++Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band – 9/23/75. Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor. This was Springsteen at the height of his concert power, shortly after the release of Born to Run. It was an incredibly exciting show. Bruce was a dynamic king of rock and roll with the tightest, hardest-working band imaginable.

Aerosmith/Joe Walsh Band (post James Gang) – Ann Arbor, Crisler Arena. 1974?

Lou Reed – Detroit

Archie Shepp –  Ann Arbor

B.B. King – Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor

Phoebe Snow – Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor

Judy Collins – Hill Auditorium, Ann Arbor

David Bromberg – the Ark, Ann Arbor

Proctor and Bergman (Two members of the Firesign Theater)- Ann Arbor. 1/19/76

Part 2. I Moved to Oregon (State Mushroom-The Pacific Golden Chanterelle)

Ken Kesey’s Poetry Hoo Haw – University of Oregon, Eugene. 1977? Included Allen Ginsberg, Paul Krassner, and a host of would-be poets who each got a few minutes onstage before getting booted off for the next one. Ken and his brother served sandwiches to the audience outside the hall during the break. Ken personally heaped a pile of beans into my pocket bread.

Al Stewart (twice) Eugene and Salem.

George Benson/Minnie Riperton –  Eugene

The Who/The Clash – Traveled to Seattle and the Kingdome for this one. Always wanted to hear Townsend sing the words, “teenage wasteland.” It was satisfying. 10/20/82.

Part 3. Seattle Beginnings (State Senate declares April 12, 1985, “Louie Louie Day”)

Violent Femmes –  Saw them three times. Once at the Gorilla Gardens, and I think twice at the Paramount.

R.E.M. –  I saw R.E.M. twice. Seattle Music hall, with Dream Syndicate. (6/27/84) Stipe was in swirling hippie mode. Again (7/12/85 show, probably) at the Paramount. Stipe was in dark overcoat, close-cropped mode.

Eric Tingstad & Nancy Rumbel – Local Seattle area acoustic “new age” artists. Part of some sort of holiday concert sometime in the mid-80s somewhere in Seattle.

The Three O’Clock –  Odd Fellows Hall, 84? Groovy light show. They were part of a psychedelic renaissance in the early 80s. Stupid Einstein.

Agent Orange – The Metropolis. 84? People were still slam dancing. I played human bumper cars.

Duck’s Breath Mystery Theater – Comedy group. One member, Ian Shoales, was a regular on NPR for while, known for his one-minute bursts of rapid-fire social satire, always ending with, “I gotta go.” Saw them at On The Boards, and once at the Backstage  83 & 86?

KCMU Shake the Shack Night – At the Tractor in the mid-80s. Sadly, I can’t recall who played. I remember a heavily duct-taped guitar.

Lynn Wedekind – Local Washington state musician and friend of mine. Saw her perform numerous times all over Seattle, including the Honey Bear Bakery.

Cris Williamson/Tret Fure, Lynn Wedekind – Spokane Falls Community College, Spokane. 1/5/88.

Karla Bonhoff – Once at a club up on Aurora, once at a Zoo Tunes show.

Paul Winter Consort – Once at the Seattle Opera House, once at Zoo Tunes.

+++Leonard Cohen – Twice at the Paramount.  10/27/88 and 7/1/1993. There are bits of Leonard Cohen lyric forever stamped in my heart. I feared that seeing him live would destroy his hero status, but both shows were very entertaining and engaging.

Indigo Girls –  Once at the Paramount, and later as part of a Jesus Christ Superstar performance at the Pier that included a bunch of musicians from Athens, GA. Leaning heavily on loud, solid rock and roll, the JC show was actually pretty good.

John Hiatt –  St. Michelle Winery – 91?

Little Village – Paramount – 92?

Ry Cooder & Steve Lindley, Nick Lowe – Bumbershoot – 1990

Laurie Anderson. University of Washington. Not a big multimedia extravaganza, but a quieter evening of mostly spoken word.

+++Neil Young with Crazy Horse/Sonic Youth –  Seattle Ctr. Arena 1991.
This was the Ragged Glory tour. Young, the living legend, with the ultimate rough-edges band slammed out incredibly loud, feedback-laden songs with melodies twisting around inside them. (If I was a music critic I could actually get paid for this kind of prose.) Jamming with Pearl Jam.

Neil Young – acoustic and electronic, Minnesota State Fair, acoustic at the Paramount.

Grateful Dead – Eugene, Autzen Stadium, August 22, 1993. Everyone had to go at least once–the pilgrimage to hippie Mecca.

Loudon Wainwright –  Zoo Tunes concert 96.

Bela Fleck – Zoo Tunes concert.

Elvis Costello and the Attractions – Mercer Arena 96.  A very fine show. I didn’t know it at the time but this was the last time The Attractions played in the U.S. His long-time back-up band broke up soon after.

Marian McPartland
– Jazz Alley. My piano teacher’s teacher. Back when I was trying to learn piano the first time.

Ritsu Atomic Violin Explosion – Bumbershoot 96. At the time Ritsu was doing a Hendrix-of-the-violin act with her two-piece backing band. Always wanted to find a tape of the band. Years later I found her Web site, sent her an e-mail, and she offered to burn a CD of some power trio recordings for me that were in the same vein as what she did at Bumbershoot.

Lowebeats– (Nick Lowe tribute band) Bumbershoot.

Part 4. Latter Day Seattle (WTO protesters knock the “H” off Maggie’s Honda)

Buck Owens, Bumbershoot 98

+++Screaming Trees, Bumbershoot 98. For all of this band’s personnel problems, long breaks, and in-fighting, they produced what is arguably the best rock music from the Northwest. Their final album, Dust, is some sort of classic, mixing folk, psychedelia, and hard rock. They gave a powerful performance at Memorial Stadium that year, including many cuts from Dust. Link to a very fine song.

Bob Dylan/Lucinda Williams – Puyallup Fair, September 27, 1998

+++Elvis Costello and Stevie Nieve – 5/26/15. Paramount. This was the ultimate Elvis show for me. Costello’s voice had evolved into a smooth instrument that could fill the Paramount even when he stepped away from the microphone. It was clear that the great songwriter could also be a fantastic performer.

Peter Case – Bumbershoot  1999.

The Ballard Sedentary Sousa Band – Saw this local brass band many times at various venues such as the Folklife Festival.

Robyn Hitchcock and the Egyptians – Bumbershoot – 1999

+++Magnetic Fields, Bumbershoot 2000.
Following their “69 Love Songs” release, Stephin Merritt and his compatriots put on a magnificent show—acerbic, beautiful, funny; with their great mix of banjo, cello, keyboards, and guitar.

X – at a club in Seattle. Reunion of the original band.

Patti Smith – June 23 , 2000. EMP opening weekend concert. People have the power.

Jason Webley – Town Hall and again at Burning Man. Can’t attach a year to either of these.

Elvis Costello and the Imposters – Paramount 2002

The Magnetic Fields – Moore Theater, November 12, 2004

Rev Billy and the Stop Shopping Gospel Choir – Burning Man 2004?

The Shins – University of Washington. May, 2005. It was a joy to catch singer/songwriter James Mercer and the band in action. The first two albums are always swirling in the far corners of my brain.

The Jill and Julia Show (Jill Sobule and Julia Sweeney) at The Amazing Meeting, 2006 in Las Vegas. Trading songs and spoken word, this was a charming, funny, and fascinating experience. It made me a Sobule fan. I already liked Julia. Here they are at TED.

+++Iggy and the Stooges – WaMu theater, April 2007. As I described in a blog entry, Iggy was a writhing Adonis (Maggie’s phrase). At age 60 he had an amazing series of sinuous twists, leaps, and screams that continued for the entire 90-minute-plus aerobic workout of a concert. Ron Asheton is the guitar player every punk band wished they’d had – pure noise perfection. It was like I’d stepped 35 years into the past to see a concert I never should never have missed.

The Mugs – Sunset Tavern. KEXP listener show.

Shonen Knife at Chop Suey 12/07. It’s never too late to catch one of the best pop bands on the planet. Sheer fun. The Japanese Beatles with a little Ramones mixed in.

Roy Zimmerman – 9/08 Kenyon Hall. Funny left-leaning political songs.

The Sonics – 10/31/08. Paramount. The original powerhouse from Tacoma gave a fine show, finally getting the respect they deserve as progenitors of punk. Happy Halloween for the band who wrote about girls, cars, and drinking strychnine. They tear into the song, “Louie Louie” like no else ever could.

2009 – The year without live music. Actually, no, I saw Roy Zimmerman again at TAM 8.

2010 – The year with almost no live music.

Wild Flag – 11/12/10. High Dive, Seattle. Plus Keli Schaefer, The Royal Baths.

Lucinda Williams – 6/29/11. Woodland Park Zoo, Seattle.

The Go-Go’s, Girl In A Coma – 8/14/11. Woodland Park Zoo, Seattle.

Wild Flag – 11/11/11. Neumos, Seattle. Plus Drew Grow & the Pastor’s Wives.

Grizzly Bear, Lower Dens 10/5/12. Paramount, Seattle.

Clave Gringa,  4/27/13. Seattle Women Jazz Festival (Egan’s Ballard Jazz House).

Future Bible Heroes. 7/12/13. Tractor Tavern, Seattle. (Without Stephin Merritt).

Shelly Segal. 8/13. At Uli Baba’s camp, Burning Man.

Jill Sobule & Julie Sweeney. 9/13/13. Neptune Theater, Seattle.

Sergey Ignatov and Acoustic Fantasy. 11/1/13. Egan’s Ballard Jazz House, Seattle.

Sundae & Mr. Goessel. 9/15/14. Royal Room.

Pierced Arrows, Wimps, Deep Creep, SSDD. 2/14/15. Highline, Seattle.

Replacements, Young Fresh Fellows. 4/9/15. Paramount, Seattle.

Damon & Naomi. 4/18/15. Experience Music Project, Seattle.

Elvis Costello 4/26/15.  “Detour.” Paramount, Seattle.

Stooges Tribute Band 8/24/15. Pike Place Market. Band consisted of Mark Arm (Mudhoney). Scott McCready (Pearl Jam), Duff McKagan (Guns ‘n Roses), and Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees).

Cory McAbee, 10/1/15. “Small Star Seminar.” Columbia City Theater, Seattle.

Roger McGuinn. 10/15/15. Benaroya, Seattle.

Low. Andy Shauf. 11/21/15. Crocodile, Seattle.

Mark Lanegan. Sean Wheeler. 7/8/16. Neptune, Seattle.

Chastity Belt and Boyfriend.  8/4/16. SAM Outdoor Sculpture Park, Seattle.

Brian Wilson, Pet Sounds Tour. 10/8/16. Paramount, Seattle.

Lucy Wainwright Roche & Suzzy Roche. Also Richard Shindell. 10/14/16. Royal Room, Seattle.

36 thoughts on “forty years in my ears

  1. Going way, way back to that 1969 Vanilla Fudge concert that didn’t quite happen, don’t forget to mention that our father insisted that the boys wear neckties. I might have left the house with one to appease he who owned the car, but if I did, it came off in the driveway.

    And why leave out the other two bands present? “Soap” and “The Frightened Trees.”

  2. dangblog

    I don’t remember the necktie request. That’s a good detail. Am I right that it was 1969? I wish you could confirm my memory that we were given an opportunity to trade our tickets stubs in for an upcoming Jimi Hendrix concert, since the Vanilla Fudge didn’t show.

    • Randy M Foley

      The cancelled Fudge show was February 24th 1968. The Hendrix show at the Toledo University Fieldhouse for which free tickets were given in lieu of the Vanilla Fudge backing out, was March 30th 1968. I was at both concerts.

      I met the Amboy Dukes after that show, chatted about music and stuff, and got their autographs; still have those autographs.

      BTW, word was that the Vanilla Fudge were in the audience, but opted out of their gig when they determined the Toledo audience was too small for them to perform! Also, they had already played that day–on Robin Seymour’s Swingin’ Time afternoon TV show, out of Windsor.

      Vanilla Fudge did play Toledo, at the TU Fieldhouse, on October 19th 1969. It was one of the most intense performances I’ve ever witnessed, up to this day, after 43 years of over 500 concerts! They nearly topped Led Zeppelin, who I had just seen in Detroit the previous night.

      (I kept a record of all my concerts over the years…)

      • dangblog

        Thank you, Randy M. Foley for your sharp memory. I’ve corrected the date. Also good to get a confirmation of the Hendrix option, one of the greatest missed opportunities of a lifetime. I was just an 8th grader, however, and was there because my big brother took me along. I think we had press passes thanks to my dad running a small town weekly newspaper over the border in Michigan. Not sure what happened re: our not going to Hendrix.

  3. I think you’re right, but it just wasn’t going to work out for some reason. Maybe. Perhaps it was only for a Cream concert. I’m not certain about 1969 but it’s a good guess. Certainly not later, but possibly earlier.

    That’s quite an impressive list of concert memories. Is this all drug-induced?

  4. jiim mead

    Also playing at the concert at Michigan State in spring of 1970 was the Small Faces with Ron Wood on guitar and Rod Stewart singing.

    • jim

      I have posted some pictures of the 1970 MSU concert on Flickr at this link

      EPV0008

      My recollection is that after the Airplane played, it was announced that the sound system was broken and the show was over. My friends and I hyng around and after an hour or so, the Small Faces set up their own sound equipment and played through that.

      • dangblog

        Thanks for posting the pictures! I can barely remember this show, so it’s great to have something to see. Quite good photos, too. And nice quality. You must have taken good care of the prints or the negatives.

      • Peter

        I was there me & my bro went I love it Boy so much Pot there. The first outdoor musical festival I ever attended was in 1970 after that one I went to all of them I sitll got

  5. Craig

    Thanks for the history and memories. I attended the spring concert at MSU in 1970 and Chicago and Mountain DID perform. I don’t recall “Small Faces” as referenced in the response above. But, they could very well have been there. Of course, Minnie Ripperton, lead singer for Rotary Connection, was the mother of Myra Rudolph (SNL fame).

  6. The outdoor concert at MSU had Taj Mahal who was completely unknown then, is only somewhat better known now, but who is a living legend among music aficionados and he’s still preserving the old music and breaking new ground.

    The outdoor concert with Yes and Dave Mason also had Peter Frampton and Ace (not Air Supply). It was held at Eastern Michigan’s outdoor grandstand.

  7. Myrna Jacobs

    You were a huge aid to my memories on this. I went to the 1970 MSU concert and though I was there for the whole thing (I think?), the only ones I recall are Mountain and John Sebastian. My husband says he remembers Chicago too. We were stoned.. mightily so and I’m surprised I recall that much! I stopped using drugs totally in 1971 … enough of that shit.

  8. dangblog

    Posted by: stuiesmom, on April 13, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    It looks like you and I crossed paths many times in Ann Arbor and Detroit. I was Googling to see when the Frampton/Santana show was in Ypsilanti and up you popped. Did you go to the Grande in Detroit, too? I loved the Ann Arbor Blues & Jazz festivals. Did you make it to the one in exile in Windsor, Ont?

  9. dangblog

    Thanks for writing. No, I never went to the Grande in Detroit. Only made it to a couple Blues & Jazz fests. Didn’t get to the one in Windsor. But I’m sure we crossed paths. When I went to the Stooges show here in Seattle in 2007, I actually sat next to someone who had been to the John Sinclair Freedom Rally in Ann Arbor.

    Speaking of the Detroit area, I really hope to see The White Stripes next time they come around.

  10. Anonymous

    Just wanted to thank you for your awesome blog.
    Alot of synchronicity.
    I was in Michigan in the 1970’s (Commander Cody and MC5 in Detroit in the park, though I was 12), the Red Octopus Tour 1975 at Pine Knob, Aerosmith at McMorran Arena, Port Huron, et al….) and I actually found your blog as I was looking for a picture of Peter Orlovsky at the Hoo Hah in 1977 (Oregon/Kesey). He just passed away and I remembered this was the first time I saw he and Allen Ginsberg read poems. I hung out in SF for abou 30 years and gave up—-now I’m in Vermont (go figure). Blessings, best and thanks!!!!

  11. Laurie

    I have a concert poster for a concert at Toledo, Ohio Sports Arena for Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison & The Doors, and The Grateful Dead for July 4, 1969. I know there was a bad storm that day and am trying to find out if there actually was such an event scheduled and was cancelled or if the poster I have is bogus.

    • Randy F

      Bogus. The Dead never played Toledo; Jimi played Toedo once (03/30/68); Janis played Toledo once (03/09/69); the Doors were scheduled to play once (date in 1969 I believe), and were banned by the City Council because of the Miami fiasco. A poster exists of the Doors never-played show. A poster exists of the Janis show. No poster for the Jimi show. There was indeed a bad storm in Toledo that day. I remember hiding out in a friends house in nearby Sylvania that day. Oh, by the way, Janis played the 1969 Atlanta Pop Festival July 4 1969. I attended the above Jimi and Janis Toledo shows, had tickets for the Doors cancelled Toledo show (wish I kept them instead of turning them back in for a refund).

  12. dangblog

    I think you can be sure that it’s a fake. I’d be surprised if all of these musicians played at the same event anywhere. Also, You can look up the Atlanta Pop Festival, July 4-5, 1969, and see that Janis Joplin performed there.

  13. Mike Stone

    Aerosmith, Mahogany Rush & Barnstorm (with Joe Walsh) – Crisler Arena, Ann Arbor, MI. approx. 1975 – Aerosmith was attempting to do some live recording for “Get Your Wings”. Steven Tyler had wings attached to his arms that ran down to his legs. A female climbed on stage, grabbing one of the wings and Steven Tyler proceeded to drag her around until security threw her back into audience. Mahogany Rush had great laser show shooting lasers from their guitars. Joe Walsh was usual insane showman. Great, great concert. Beer in cooler and arena filled with cloud of smoke.

  14. Ruth Ann Vinton Tesanovich

    I was a student@MSU in 1970 & went to 5/24/70 festival. I remember same bands as you. Grand funk railroad also. There was a Michigan band also-can’t remember their name???

  15. Idele

    I don’t know if anyone even reads this but I was on the MSU Pop Entertainment Committee and was front and center for two days of great music …and other stuff. I also have a few pics from the side of the stage — Gracie Slick, Minnie Ripperton and many shots of the audience. Just don’t have a scanner. Today I am on the steering committee for what we call the Jerusalem Woodstock Revival which just took place in the city of peace last week. I have not evolved.
    Idele Ross

    • Ruth Ann

      Hi Idele,
      I went to MSU 1969-73. The first outdoor musical festival I ever attended was in May of ’70 (I think). My memory says that Airplane, John Sebatian, Mountain, Chicago, Grand Funk, Brownsville Station were all there. Were you involved? If so, what was the line-up of bands & any other recollections you have of that event would be appreciated.

      • idele ross

        You know what they say — if you remember then you weren’t really there. But because I had already worked at the GooseLake Festival I was fairly certain of how these things go. So I also have a few photos-one is a pretty good shot of John Sebastian back stage with a woman who had long flowing blonde hair of course – and I remember the same bands that you do although I mix them up with Goose Lake. I don’t have a scanner yet but when I do I will be happy to post and share what I have. In the meantime check out my Facebook page and see how little I have evolved.

      • Ruth Ann

        Hi again Idele,
        I didn’t go to Goose Lake Festival. My boyfriend at MSU and I had to decide whether to go to the festival that weekend or see the musical, Hair, in Detroit so we went to see Hair instead! Those were the days….

      • Idele

        Trent
        I went to bentley where i knew your dad who relocated to msu when i did. I have many memories and some photos pf both goose lake and the msu pop festival. Dad put me on the pop ent committee and i had the tome of my life!!! Pleasr send me an email so we can communicate as those experiences impacted my adult life and i remember dad fondly.

  16. dangblog

    Of course there are people out here reading this. One, possibly as many as two people, read this on a regular basis. Good for you, Idele, for not evolving. Your festival sounds terrific.

  17. Jack Brey

    I manned a sound tower at the MSU concert in May 1970 — downwind from 20,000 pot smokers. Somehow i didn’t fall off. Gained a lifelong appreciation for Chicago, especially their sound man who, unlike his peers fed us a clean signal. .

  18. Peter

    I was there me & my bro went I love it Boy so much Pot there. The first outdoor musical festival I ever attended was in 1970 after that one I went to all of them I sitll got my ticket

  19. trażnika, kto każdego dnia informował o Jamey
    postępach w roboty cieśli, kształtujących rusztowanie
    w dziedzinie. – Owo prawda, że już dopełniają?

    – spytał z rezygnacją rycerz. –
    Zgodność z rzeczywistością – ożywił się Kr.

Leave a Reply

