google android

Standard

I finally got a cell phone with GPS, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, 3G, and all the other jargon-laden goodies. Since I’m already with T-Mobile and the myTouch looked a bit more economical than an iPhone or a Pre, I got one. When the first bill arrives, I’ll be wrathful.

mytouchThat’s not my monkey in the photo. I suspect the learning curve is a bit steeper for this phone than the iPhone. It’s taking me a while to get the hang of it. Some of the more interesting things you can do include using Google Voice to have your home land line (if you have one) ring on this phone as well as the one at home. I’m using it to check my home e-mail when I’m at work. I’ve got Pandora working. There’s a beta version of Skype that I downloaded from the Android app store (about 6,000 apps available, I believe) but I haven’t gotten Skype to function. It’s got a Voice Dialer. I said, “Call Dan Green” aloud and it brought up my name and two of my siblings. I said, “Call Scot Bastian” and it immediately brought up Scot’s info. That was fun. I’m downloading Visual Voicemail so I can read my messages instead of listen if I want to. If you like Google, there is tight integration with Googly stuff.

Is it really worth it having slow Internet in your pocket? Too early to say. I do like the touch-sensitive screen control, plus the scroll ball, and the deep lustrous burgundy finish. I’m such a techno twerp.

One thought on “google android

Leave a Reply

