The diving bell and the butterfly and other movie stuff

Standard

Maggie Netflixilated this movie for us and I was amazed. One of the best films I’ve seen in quite a while. Beautiful, brilliant, and intelligent. Nice soundtrack too. I noticed that many of my favorite films over the past ten years also had excellent soundtracks: “Children of Men,” “Lost in Translation.” Music is a big factor for me, I guess. If you missed “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” like I did, I recommend seeing it.

Even though “The Men Who Stare at Goats” is getting mixed reviews, I’m eager to see it. I’m becoming a fan of Jon Ronson, the author of the book it’s based on. Not so much for his writing style, but for his bold ability to stick his neck into weird and/or  downright dangerous situations and come back with true stories from crazy-ville. His books being turned into films is an unexpected turn of events for me. I heard him say on an interview that “Them!” has been optioned for film treatment, too.

Leave a Reply

