how much is that raccoon pelt in the window?

Standard

One of those time-wasting items fluttering around Facebook recently: what was the #1 song in the USA on the day you were born? Mine was something I’d never heard of, “Wanted” by Perry Como. However, jump one year back to my -1 birthday and the big hit was, “How Much is that Doggie in the Window?” by Patty Page. Now there’s a song I remember.  It’s a little hard to picture everyone across the country buying this record. Arf! Arf! On my first birthday, the #1 song was “The Ballad of Davy Crockett.” King of Wild Frontier! I remember that one, too.  The lyrics tell of killing bears and Native Americans, which doesn’t sound so good today. I had my own coonskin cap just like Davy’s.

If you keep going, delving into hit songs on your birthday, before and after your actual birth, there’s no end to the amazing tunes:

1915 “I Didn’t Raise My Boy to be a Soldier” by Morton Harvey
1921 “O-H-I-O (O-My! O!)” Al Jolson
1933 “Stormy Weather”  Leo Reisman featuring Harold Arlen
1940 “In the Mood” Glenn Miller
1957 “All Shook Up” Elvis Presely
1969 “Aquarius/Let the Sun Shine In” The Fifth Dimension
1970s – mostly crap in the #1 spot
1983 “Come on Eileen” Dexy’s Midnight Runners

Let’s quit there before Celine Dion appears and our tears fall like rain. How many songs have compared tears to rain? How many roads must a man walk down? I gotta go.

Leave a Reply

