today’s science news

Standard

Here’s the opening sentence from an article in ScienceDaily: “Could our universe be located within the interior of a wormhole which itself is part of a black hole that lies within a much larger universe?”

That’s usually one of the first questions I ask myself when I get up in the morning. You too? I’m staring into the bathroom mirror, feeling like I’m inside a black hole, which is inside a wormhole. I’m imagining that the whole universe is with me inside that black hole inside the wormhole. Then I go to work.

I guess a physicist named Nikodem Poplawski is with me on this subject. Do you get the feeling the “much larger universe” we’re inside of is also inside a black hole inside a wormhole, and so on and so on, ad infinitum? It reminds of a recent comic in the New Yorker. A dentist is working on a patient’s mouth. He says to his assistant, “If we could just get one more mirror in his mouth, it would look like his teeth go on forever and ever.”

Leave a Reply

