you don’t own me

Standard

I know someone who posted this on Facebook recently and I thought it deserved a blog post, too. Other than this number, the Leslie Gore songs that I remember are “It’s My Party” and “Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows.” The latter song was performed in a movie, “Ski Party,” starring Frankie Avalon. I saw the film at our town’s drive-in theater, which has long since been torn down and no trace remains. It’s a pretty good guess that my sister took me to that film. I must have been about ten or eleven years old at the time. Check out this clip of Leslie singing in the film to see what a classic wholesome teen movie looked like, circa 1965. Absolutely perfect drive-in fodder.

It wasn’t till after I decided to post this video that I checked Leslie on Wikipedia and learned that she announced that she is a lesbian in 2005, and also released a CD that year. She lives with her partner of 23 years.

One thought on “you don’t own me

Leave a Reply

