the new age of farming, physical therapy, and devolution

Standard

I was standing in  the hand therapy unit at Harborview and they were fashioning a new splint for me. If you haven’t seen it done, they cut a piece of arm-shaped plastic, soften it up in hot water and then mold it onto your arm. Then it’s trimmed, and  Velcro and straps are added. The PT and I were talking about Velcro and he asked if I thought it grew on trees.

“Yes,” I said, “I know it does. I’ve driven past Velco farms.” The tricky part of Velcro farming is keeping the “hook” leaves from sticking to the “loop” leaves when you harvest it. I went on to talk about floss farming and the Frank Zappa song.

Moving to Montana soon/
Gonna be a dental floss tycoon

Surprisingly, this fellow had not heard the song. The lyrics are definitely worth checking out in detail. Particularly the part about the zircon-encrusted tweezers. However, if you want the real deal, you’ll watch the 8-1/2 minute live performance video with several minutes of guitar soloing in the middle.

But back to physical and occupational therapists. The person whom I see twice a week, whose titles are OT and CHT (certified hand therapist), is turning 50 this month. She’s celebrating by going to see Devo perform live and in person on her birthday. She’s paid extra dollars for a VIP experience in which she gets to meet the band before the show.

Now I have to go tend to my zipper plant. If it works out, I’ll start a zipper garden this spring. Then on to buttons. I guess they grow on mushrooms, eh?

One thought on “the new age of farming, physical therapy, and devolution

Leave a Reply

