afghanistan

Standard

I don’t often stray too far from humor or personal accounts on the blog, but once in a while I wander into real life and politics. I thought this commentary by Glenn Greenwald in Salon was worth calling attention to. What exactly is the U.S. doing in Afghanistan other than shedding blood and breeding terrorists? It’s so easy to forget what’s going on in our name, with our money, with our tacit acceptance. I don’t know, but I wonder if it would really be dangerous for the U.S. and other NATO countries to stop killing people there, to only provide aid and education, or to simply get out. Maybe I’m naive and the dead children are necessary collateral damage for a never-ending “war on terror.”

Leave a Reply

