harmonious memories

Standard

In my early Seattle days I saw Eric Tingstad and Nancy Rumbel perform in concert. Playing keyboards with them was Lynn Wedekind, whom I later met while participating in the Tri-Island Trek, a bicycle fundraiser for the American Lung Association. I think that was 1984, though it could have been 1983. The islands were: Whidbey Island, San Juan Island, and Vancouver Island (BC). That was about the time Lynn was recording her first CD, Heart On a Limb. Don’t see her much anymore. First she left for Port Townsend, now she seems to be living in Mexico. Lynn, me, and another person I met on that bike ride will meet again at the Lucinda Williams show next week at the zoo, which ought to be fun. Unless it pours down rain.

Tingstad and Rumbel were considered “new age” musicians, which I associate with pleasant but forgettable ear candy. I don’t know if that’s a fair characterization of them–haven’t heard enough to say, at least not for a long time. They did come up with one tune that hits me right in the heart every time I hear it. I believe that’s an English horn that Nancy uses to play the melody. The song ends at about 3:40 on this video. Don’t know why there’s a few minutes more of nothingness. Oops.

Leave a Reply

