faith-based initiative

Standard

Last week I walked up to Half-Price Books on my lunch break and got two cheap ones: Philip Roth’s The Plot Against America and a book of science fiction stories. The faith part involves me having and taking time to read them. I’m pretty sure, based on past experience, that I will eventually get to them. That means my faith is backed up with some evidence.

By the way, I think it stinks that Prez Obama is continuing with government-funded “faith-based” programs that were started by President Awful. Separating government and church is what this nation is all about. It’s the linchpin. The founding principle. You do not funnel taxpayer money into religious institutions. Period. It’s why James Madison opposed appointing and paying chaplains to serve Congress. It’s like paying for chaplains in the military. Should not be done.

While on this topic it ought to be said that belief based on pure faith is crazy. You don’t believe a used car is the best one for you based on faith without evidence. The more important the decision, the less faith-based and more fact-based it ought to be. I wrote about a similar topic in my post about the phrase, “There’s a reason for everything.

“Say what you will about the sweet miracle of unquestioning faith, I consider a capacity for it terrifying and absolutely vile!”
– Kurt Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

