portlandia

Standard

Finally got around to watching the first three episodes (free on Hulu). I liked this show much more than I expected. It’s in the same vein as Flight of the Conchords but original enough and true to enough to its Portland venue to stand apart. I have no idea if it holds up across two seasons and an upcoming third, but I’d watch them to find out, given the chance. I loved the visit to the farm in the first one, and I love Aimee Mann, so I was happy to see her as a house cleaner in the third. And the other guest stars that pop up are well cast.

When I saw Carrie Brownstein a few weeks ago in Wild Flag I knew she was associated with Portlandia but I didn’t realize she was a co-star. She’s not really an actor, but it doesn’t matter. In fact, the great thing about Portlandia is that you watch it and think, “You know, I could *almost* make something like this myself.”

2 thoughts on “portlandia

  1. gl.

    In fact, the great thing about Portlandia is that you watch it and think, “You know, I could *almost* make something like this myself.”

    actually, that’s the great thing about -Portland-, as well.

Leave a Reply

