the bells of rhymney

Standard

When I listen to the harmonies at the very end of this song I expect the music to suddenly jump about a half a second forward because that’s where the old LP had a scratch in it and the needle skipped forward. That’s the way I learned it as a youngster. If I had time I’d go in and put a digital scratch in the digital groove so I can hear it the way it was meant to be.

Oh what will you give me?
Say the sad bells of Rhymney
Is there hope for the future?
Say the brown bells of Merthyr
Who made the mine owner?
Say the black bells of Rhondda
And who killed the miner?
Say the grim bells of Blaina
Put the vandals in court
Say the bells of Newport
All would be well if, if, if, if, if
Say the green bells of Cardiff
Why so worried sisters? Why?
Sang the silver bells of Wye
And what will you give me?
Say the sad bells of Rhymney
Oh what will you give me?
Say the sad bells of Rhymney
Is there hope for the future?
Say the brown bells of Merthyr
Who made the mine owner?
Say the black bells of Rhondda
And who killed the miner?
Say the grim bells of Blaina

Leave a Reply

