experience the spirit

Standard

A friend was so fascinated by a package of couscous mix in the grocery store that she showed me a picture of the label. The label said, “Come experience the spirit of natural taste.

We have to assume that the natural taste is dead and only the spirit remains, right? Having accepted that (and having had a brief moment of silence) I realized that I don’t actually get to taste anything, but only experience the spirit of it. I’d still be hungry, I bet. I also have to wonder, when I’m standing in a grocery store and being invited to “come experience,” where am I supposed to go? Into the package? I’ll go if you come with me … close your eyes and dive in …

Leave a Reply

