proud heritage

Standard

While in Portland I learned that I’m distantly related to Laura Smith Haviland, 19th century abolitionist, suffragette, and temperance worker. Maybe I knew this once when I was younger and forgot about it. The relationship is fairly tenuous, but there is one degree of separation between us. That is, if my grandmother came back to life, and if Haviland was reanimated, my grandma could introduce me to Haviland, theoretically speaking. If the “many worlds” interpretation of quantum mechanics is correct, then maybe this highly unlikely event occurs somewhere over the rainbow.

6 thoughts on “proud heritage

  1. dangblog

    I sent you an excerpt from our grandmother’s journal, which indicates a relationship. What do you think? Just confusion on her part?

Leave a Reply

