the skeptic life, part 1

Standard

Being a skeptic keeps me honest, or at least nudges me in that direction. I have a mental reflex that asks, “Is that really true?” I can’t eliminate personal biases, but the reflex holds my feet to the fire. Yow! That’s hot stuff.

We will now enter the confessional. The truth is, I was in a long relationship with a new age type organization many, many years ago, when the earth was young. It was after that experience that I decided I didn’t want to be fooled anymore if I could help it. This group presented scientific research that demonstrated its claims, and that’s what drew me in at the beginning. I know now that the science they presented was crappy, but I didn’t understand the distinctions then.

Eventually I started to doubt, and the group’s “guru” had warned that doubting was dangerous. He was right. It began my process of wandering away. Now you say, “Sin no more and we won’t mention it again.” Exit the dark confession booth.

In the long years since then, I’ve attempted to base my beliefs on reality. Blinders off, I live in a fantastically amazing world, and I carry a big appetite for theories, facts, news, and absurdity. I find plenty of each. No ghosts behind the scenes, no invisible higher powers – just us folks. I’m an organically grown humanist. The real world may be where I thrive or where I’m crushed, but at least it’s and honest person-to-universe relationship.

Next up — beliefs that have come and gone.

Leave a Reply

