prehistoric piano

Standard

I’m slowly advancing through the adult beginner piano book. Tonight my teacher turned the page to “Minuet in G.” It meant nothing to me till I began playing it, and then I instantly recognized the tune. In my head, a woman’s voice was singing lyrics to the song. The music was written by Christian Petzold in the early 1700s, and enjoyed unexpected pop music fame in the 1960s.

Turns out my piano teacher had no clue that there was a top-ten radio hit in 1965 based on this melody. I guess she’s too young, as is seemingly everyone these days. Though not yet a teenager when this pop song appeared, I was walking the earth; dodging between the legs of dinosaurs that roamed through the steaming jungles of Michigan.

Leave a Reply

