reefs and bats – cairns

Standard

On the hot and humid north coast. The house where I’m staying is near the water. I’m told a crocodile is spotted every few weeks here.

I took a snorkeling tour to the Great Barrier Reef today. After the sunny photo below, it got a bit rainy and blustery. My first snork was in water with swells and such. I saw at least three people on board reach for the barf bags, but I only got a little queasy.

You can rent underwater cameras but I didn’t because my photos would have looked just like any reef pictures you can find. Beautiful and bursting with life. Off to the reef:

image

Each hanging lump in the tree photo below is an upside down squawking 2-ft. wingspan bat. There are trees packed with them in downtown Cairns. At dusk, big bat  flocks fill the air. I have some video of the squawking and flying on my camera.

image

Leave a Reply

