a happy day in the ring of fire

Standard

The first happy event in my ring of fire neighborhood was that the cake fairy left this by my door:

cake1

 

 

 

Then I walked down towards Gasworks Park. I saw this fine old 1943 vintage tugboat on the way:

galene

 

 

 

 

I saw a volcano (Mt. Rainier) between two bridge supports. Can you spot it?

volcano2

 

 

 

 

Back in 2009, Governor Bobby Jindal ridiculed President Obama’s economic stimulus package because it included “$140 million for something called ‘volcano monitoring.'” I guess the governor of Louisiana and possible 2016 presidential candidate didn’t know the U.S. contains something called volcanoes. One of them killed 60 people in 1980. Here’s a closer view:

volcano

 

 

 

 

Finally, I arrived at Gasworks. You live in a fine place when a short walk can take you here:

gasworks_view

One thought on “a happy day in the ring of fire

Leave a Reply

