wal-born

My hero Mark Trail often says, “What th’?!” when faced with a surprise. That’s what I said when I saw Wal-born on the store shelf when I was picking up a prescription. You may remember the alleged cold remedy called Airborne. It’s a pill that doesn’t do much of anything, although it has some vitamins in it, which places it a step above homeopathic meds, which have nothing in them. The Airborne folks lost a class action lawsuit for misleading advertising. Also, if you take more than three a day you can get a Vitamin A overdose.

It’s a dubious product, but Walgreen’s pharmacy saw dollar signs and created its own version called “Wal-born.” Like its namesake, Wal-born is vitamins and herbs in a fizzy tablet. They should call it “placebo-rn,” In fact, if someone doesn’t market placebo-rn, I will. Mine will be sugar pills with a drop of sterilized cat saliva in each tablet.

Reborn with placebo-rn! The goodness of cat spit in every dose! Take it in a crowded room or on an airplane and be amazed if you don’t happen to get a cold. Why am I so animated about this, you may ask? Because I spent a lot of money over the years on echinacea, and swore that it helped ward off colds. Placebinacea! I’ve been there.

2 thoughts on “wal-born

  1. You’re on. I already have a saliva-extraction unit for high volume production. You place the feline in the SEU, which automatically pets the kitty. The unit has a small suction mask which you strap to the cat’s head (little elastic straps go over each ear). The spit is sucked through a tube and into a collection vial for sterilization.

    It’s an expensive machine, but pays for itself within a year.

Leave a comment